Home Hotel management Esteemed Building Science Teacher, Auburn Biomedical Science Student Receives Prestigious Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

Esteemed Building Science Teacher, Auburn Biomedical Science Student Receives Prestigious Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award


Body of the article

One of Auburn University’s most respected professors and a biomedical science student of immense potential are this year’s recipients of the prestigious Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award.

Scott Kramer, JE Wilborn Endowed Chair and professor at the McWhorter School of Building Science in the College of Architecture, Design and Construction, and Madison Hogans, biomedical scientist and pre-med in the College of Sciences and Mathematics, were selected for the honor 2022 . The prize is awarded annually by the university to individuals who embody high qualities and nobility of character.

Kramer was selected for his impact in the classroom and the local and global community. The innovative professor has helped transform the School of Building Science into a service-learning program and has led numerous teams of students, faculty, industry professionals and business groups in the purpose of improving economically disadvantaged communities around the world, especially in Ecuador, Haiti and Panama. Kramer and his teams have built homes, community centers, churches, health care centers and schools in these countries using local materials and construction techniques.

At the McWhorter School of Building Science, he is the service-learning coordinator and helped revise the building science curriculum to require a service-learning class for every senior. Kramer students work with other colleges and nonprofit organizations to meet community needs in Opelika, Auburn, and the Lee County area.

A selfless educator, Kramer encourages his students to build through an iterative process of making, redesigning, and refining and is highly revered by his students and faculty peers.

Hogans made the most of his time at Auburn, working hard to become a leader among his classmates inside and outside the classroom. During her freshman year, Hogans participated in EMERGE, an on-campus student leadership program, and worked as a student ambassador for the College of Science and Mathematics, or COSAM. Also in her freshman year, she worked with Dr. Bruce Smith of the College of Veterinary Medicine on research related to gene therapy and presented this work at the fall 2020 Phi Zeta Research Day.

She served as Vice President of the COSAM Ambassador Program from 2020 to 2021. During this time, Hogans led the Black History Month initiative, for which she created a virtual and interactive learning experience that spotlighted lesser-known black leaders in STEM. In her constant quest to help others and make the process easier, the first-generation student created a 70-page manual on the medical school application process after personally going through the complicated steps. The document lives on the COSAM website and has reached virtually every college student.

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award has been given to Auburn since 1951 to remember the noblest human qualities exemplified by Algernon Sydney Sullivan, a prominent humanitarian and first president of the New York Southern Society, now the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation.

Additionally, SueEllen Marie Broussard, a hospitality management and hotel and restaurant management major, was selected to receive the W. James Samford Jr. ’72 Memorial Scholarship. The award is named in memory of James Samford, an Auburn 1972 alumnus and member of the Auburn Board of Trustees from 1987 until his death in 2003. Broussard was a campus leader who worked with the Be the Match on Campus Bone Marrow Registry and the War Eagle Girls and Plainsmen and was named a Distinguished Young Woman of Marengo County.

The President’s Award and The W. James Samford Jr. Foundation Award recognizes a graduate from each school or college who has completed at least three semesters at Auburn with a minimum 3.40 grade point average and possesses outstanding leadership qualities , citizenship, character and promise. of professional capacity. All winners were celebrated at a special awards ceremony on Tuesday 12 April.

This year’s President’s Award winners are:

Hannah Cécile Lemel, College of Agriculture
William Lane Mullins, College of Architecture, Design and Construction
Kennedy Laine Jarvis, Raymond J. Harbert College of Business
Eric Alejandro Marin, College of Education
Liana Grace Wood, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering
Ilya Eva Kristensen, College of Forest and Wildlife Sciences
Oluchi Lynda Aroh, Graduate School
Tatum Reece Snelling, College of Humanities
Emma Marie Poole, College of Liberal Arts
Brooke Rosabella Bayuga, College of Nursing
Linda Tran, Harrison College of Pharmacy
Madeline Grace Bruderer, College of Science and Mathematics
Ryan Jordan Farrell, College of Veterinary Medicine